I’m back! Obligatory bragging time

Back from my three week INTENSE Renaissance art history course in Venice, with my wallet much lighter – mostly because I couldn’t stop myself from buying THIS pair of delicious art nouveau vases, in the style of my favourite 19th-20th century makers, Daum and GallĂ©.

I acquired them in a kind of shady under-the-table I-pay-cash-you-give-me-those-items-which-techinically-aren’t-for-sale sort of deal, made with a man who spoke very little English. As a result, I have no idea how old these vases are, who made them, or where they’re from. There’s no marks and no inscriptions, so they remain a mystery.

How much did they cost? ….. a lot. But if I hadn’t taken them home with me I would have regretted it forever. As it is, it’s been two weeks since I purchased them and I’m still absolutely DELIGHTED over the whole thing.

This entry was posted in Antiques and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m back! Obligatory bragging time

  1. Floatyman says:

    Glad you had a good time you Black market trader you XD

  2. Melanie says:

    Yay! I’m sooo glad to hear not only you, but your gorgeous acquisitions, made it home safely! ^_^ Those vases are divine~!

  3. Anonymous says:

    om nom nom so pretty!

Leave a Reply

